Prisoners of War in Fort Delaware, May, 1864―Brave and Distinguished Southerners in a Union Prison

Captain Hart Gibson (No. 4) was serving at the time of his capture as assistant adjutant-general on General John H. Morgan's staff. Colonel R. C. Morgan (No. 11) and Captain C. H. Morgan (No. IS) were brothers of General Morgan. The former served on the staff of General A. P. Hill in the Army of Northern Virginia, and subsequently commanded the Fourteenth Kentucky Cavalry. The latter served as aide-de-camp on his brother's staff. Lieutenant Henry H. Brogden (No. 1), of Maryland, later held an official position under President Cleveland. Lieut.-Colonel Joseph T. Tucker (No. 2) served with the Eleventh Kentucky Cavalry. Brigadier-General R. B. Vance (No. 8) was a brother of the distinguished Zebulon B. Vance, who was three times Governor of North Carolina, and afterwards United States Senator from that State. Lieut.-Colonel Cicero Coleman (No. 7) served with the Eighth Kentucky Cavalry. The Rev. I. W. K. Handy (No. 8) was a Presbyterian minister. B. P. Key (No. 8), "Little Billy," was a lad of about sixteen, a private in a Tennessee regiment. Brigadier-General M. Jeff Thompson (No. 10) was a native of Virginia but a citizen of Missouri. Colonel W. W. Ward (No. 12) commanded the Ninth Tennessee Cavalry. After the close of the war he was elected Chancellor in a Judicial District of Tennessee. Colonel (later General) Basil W. Duke (No. 14) was a daring cavalry leader. No. 8 was Lieutenant H. H. Smith, of North Carolina; 5,  Lieutenant J. J. Andrews, of Alabama; and 15, J. A. Tomlinson, of Kentucky.


Hit Counter visits since 03/11/2004.
Page updated 11/28/2004